ONCE BITTEN…….

…..LOL, WAAA!A few new buddies and I went out last Friday to a joint where one of us had a Djing gig. The events that were to follow….lets just say, lessons were learnt.

As per kawa, in my opinion, peeps like taking things at face value. On this particular night, my buddie who had this Djing gig did just that. Having been invited to play at this joint…..we didnt know what to expect. Manzee the first thing that come out of my mouth was, “Is this it?” One of my friends I checked in with just laughed. Why lie, the look on my face when I said it was just priceless!

My Dj pal, was already getting ready to do his set. Punde si punde, I see him with a torch (mbeleni, he was being told to use his cellphone…….LOL) coz the dj area/box is bila lighting. There was no space to fit two peeps in there, let alone the record cases, etc. The mixer was missing buttons or button covers and the music was bila output on some records being played. Yaani, how he pulled it off, I dont jua. Coz instead of peeps complaining and booing as they usually do when things go wrong, they were having a good laugh and lots of fun, with him and at him. Obviously, when put in such a situation……many would panic, but not my pal. He did a marvelous job. Like they say, don’t blame the jembe………

The venue got jam-packed with revellers though and everyone was having a good time. Minor issues of space and aircon…….peeps were ‘sweating like pigs’ (lakini hii phrase ilitoka wapi. i have never seen a pig sweat….anyway, debate for another day), budeez(old zaks) in suits forcing to dance with you (picture a proud father-of-the-bride bila dancing skills knocking everyone out with his dance moves)…eeewww!…………..and the odd jamaa who thinks he can win a bet he made with his pals on who will pull a mama first…….geeewwweeeezzze! generally, the atmosphere was aiight, lakini venue wasn’t.

Whether my Dj pal will return to play there is a debatable story for another day / another gig………..

Mocha!




p.s. poleni, I had sahaud the closing ‘lessons learnt’ bit! Yah! Always check out your potential venue and equipment before a gig. So that if necessary amendments are to take place, they are done in good time.

Leave a Reply

