AROUND AFRICA / BY AFRICANS

I know this entry is long overdue, but I do hope you enjoy my African selection.

These are some of the songs I have come to enjoy from the Heart of Africa. The artists are either based in their home countries or abroad. They have however stayed true to their upbringing as Africans and this, as a result, is reflected in their music.

So with much further ado:

Awilo Longomba – Karolina (My Personal Favourite)

Koffi Olomide – Loi (A Koffi Classic in my books. I know there are many, but this one stands out)

Zap Mama feat. Erykah Badu – Bandy Bandy (This a great collabo – Love this song)

K’Naan – Soobax (Somalia’s Musical Poet based in Canada – Love this track, afterall the video was shot in Kenya)

Original Video (New Video below)
Magic Systeme – 1er Gaou (This song has stood the test of time. An African Classic)

New Video of Premier Gaou

Kaysha – On Dit Quoi (My personal favourite from Kaysha. Zouk, a welcoming change from Lingala)

2Face Idibia feat. Natives & Lil Seal – Keep On Rocking

Amr Diab – Habibi (Another classic)

Lucky Dube – Slave

I have tried to hit all the corners of Africa.

There are lots I haven’t put up like tracks from Yvonne Chaka Chaka, Brenda Fassie (RIP), Hugh Masekela, Angelique Kidjo, the Legendary Fela Kuti among others. I just hope you enjoy the few that I have selected.

Have a nice weekend y’all!!!

5 thoughts on “AROUND AFRICA / BY AFRICANS”

  1. I was just about to leave a comment on your other blog asking about videos and voila!
    thanks for the videos!i wanted to ask do you get the latest music videos from home as well? if so, where do you post them?
    As always, i’m enjoying the music videos on this blog as well as the ones you have on youtube
    thanks v much!

  2. some classic shit – heheh before koffis dances developed major pots classic – awilo that was a classic too
    i like congolese music music but there video bana have too many jamaz hehehe
    -fr an american perspective

  3. @Luke…you are more than welcome. As for new videos, if I come across any, they will be up in here.

    @Anon…WAS? These tracks are still classics. As for the jamaaz on the videos…you are right.

Leave a Reply

