Gaagaa! Googoo!

Well, the tone of my blog will change dramatically…..as you will soon discover.

I have got to say that I never thought I would enjoy being a mum so much. To be honest, when I found out I was pregnant, I was somewhat disappointed. Why? I hear you ask. Well…..as some of you know, I was planning a summer wedding and that wasn’t going to happen now that I was up the duff. Also, I had found and paid, IN FULL, for my wedding dress (which is still in the shop being stored for me). And this is after I found out it was on sale from the original price.

Aaaahhh, I was looking forward to wearing my wedding dress and walking down the aisle as I planned it.

As you well know, some things just don’t go according to your plans, but God’s.

It didn’t seem at the time as it felt like a cruel joke. The fact that my body was changing didn’t make the news sink any faster.

Up to this day as I hear my son snoring next to me or when he grabs my hand as he feeds or when he looks me in the eye and lets out a chuckle, I still can’t believe that I actually bore him to this world. Hubby and I keep expecting for someone to knock on our door and tell us to hand him over. That we have kept him for too long…!

Parenting is not a joke. This is a job that you just can’t wake up one morning and decide to quit or pull a sickie. You have to roll with the punches as this little person depends on you.

When the baby cries and you have reached the end of your tether, you just can’t decide to ‘return him to the shops’. Basically, once those cells met, you were basically screwed…..quite literally, but in a good way. Whether it was planned or not.

The moment DS was born, I knew it was RIGHT! It felt right and I cried because I was overjoyed and proud of myself. The nine months headstart you are given by nature to prepare yourself don’t seem enough now that he is here. Then again, during the last weeks of my pregnancy I was ready to cut him out.

Now that he is three going four months, I am spending more time wishing that he doesn’t grow up so fast. Only the other day, I was only feeding him and changing his diapers. Now we have evolved to include small talk of gaa gaa goo goos. And as he grows, I am looking forward to the milestones of rolling over, holding up on his own his sippy cup and just being able to sit up without any assistance.

Babies are amazing and I just thank God for mine.

2 thoughts on “Gaagaa! Googoo!”

Leave a Reply

