Lesson #1: Pregnancy

Over the course of me blogging about being a mum, I will share my experiences as part of ‘my lessons learnt’ series.

When you get pregnant or become a mum/parent, you feel like you are the only one in the world who has just had a baby until the day you look for reassurance that you are doing the right thing. Be it advise from family, friends, the net, your health advisors…..you name it. That is when you realize that being a parent is NO JOKE! and you are not alone.

What is the one thing that I did learn whilst I was pregnant?

NEVER SAY NEVER!!!

This came about when I was making my birthplan. This when you right notes with regards on how you would like the day your baby is born to go down. Advise for your midwife and ob/gyn to follow (of course, not to the letter) just incase you are busy screaming to communicate any instructions.

I can tell you right now, with all the stories I heard about pain relief during child birth…..the only one I was prepared to use and ONLY use was gas & air. Epidural was to be used in a life and death situation. I actually wrote this in my pregnancy file under my birth plan. I also hammered this to hubby dearest with the strictest of instructions to not allow that needle in the room.

Fast forward to the day I was busy labouring in the delivery suite. The midwife kept coming in every four hours to check how far I had dilated only to be told that I am dilating 2-3cms at a time. I was getting tired, hubby was getting tired, baby was getting tired. And on the last check, midwife told me to consider the same epidural I has so adamantly refused. I just looked at my husband defeated and exhausted telling him to ask the midwife to send the anesthetist in and administer the said pain relief. Hubby actually remembered the lecture I hammered to him with regards to epidural and just CONFIRMED if I was sure I need it…….LOL!

All I can say is, as soon as I got the needle in my back and got a few hours of shut eye…..it was the best decision I made at the time. I was taking too long to reach the 10cms required for baby to come out and me being tired would have distressed both of us. It also helped make pushing baby more comfortable and less painful.

The downside of an epidural and something that shouldn’t be ignored……when they tell you not to move, esp. during a contraction, please DO NOT MOVE when that needle goes in.

Other than that, the other negatives , just go away with time. In my case anyways.

So, to the parents reading this, what is the one thing you have learnt during your pregnancy?

2 thoughts on “Lesson #1: Pregnancy”

  1. funny you write this when just day before jana my good pal delivered the cutest baby girl… i stood there fanning her frantically, rubbing her back and sweating like a juakali mechanic..all i know now is that when the bring out the drip, you are now being induced …and that is when the real pain starts. I dont think Iv heard such torturous groans from any human…woi!…I’m scarred for life now.lol…anyhue,theres a large following out there that swears against epidurals..for now any baby making ideas stand shelved.

    1. Being induced is the worst. It takes longer to deliver as your are rushing mother nature, but necessary as the longer the baby takes to come, the more risk to both mother and child.

      As for the sounds that are produced in a labour ward…..not for the faint hearted I tell you. Its like sitting outside a dentist’s office hearing the patient inside screaming as they have their procedure done and you are up next.

      Labour and childbirth are only but a moment. The joy of having a baby growing inside you and having it placed in your hands is just AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

