Are the London 2012 Olympics Affordable?

London 2012 Logo

Click for Olympic Schedule & Ticket Prices

In my opinion after viewing the above PDF, NO!!!

As a new mum with a possibility of giving DS a playmate, the London 2012 Olympics are looking to be a very expensive affair for the common Londoner. I immediately signed up for the tickets once the website was open to do so and as soon as the ticket prices were announced, I was already planning how to get people together for ‘Kenya Corner’ in the main stadium.

Let’s just say, I have a disappointing feeling that as Kenyan living in London, I may not be able to attend the games.

Well, let me break it down (cheapest ticket prices used)…..

…..not one to brag, but Kenyans are goodbrilliant the ones to watch when it comes to Athletics. So, if I was to go for the games, I would chose the finals on all athletic events that will feature Kenyans. The following finals will definately feature a Kenyan or two:

Men & Women 10,000m

M & W 5,000m

M & W 3,000m Steeplechase

M & W 1,500m

M & W Marathon

Likely to qualify in the M 400m and M 800m…….(am I missing any other events?)

Other sports that may include Kenyans are Swimming and Boxing (list subject to change).

The cheapest ticket price per sporting event, that I have seen, is £20 with the exemption of the Marathon which is a free event unless you what to be in a prime viewing area. Then you will have to pay.

Now, back to Athletics…..the events are not all on the same day. So that means £50 for every final event you chose to attend. In my case, if I drag hubby dearest and DS, the total may easy shoot up to £100 (if children under 5 go free) per event/day.

I haven’t taken into account the travel, food and merchandise expenses. Not forgetting taking time off work to support our fellow country men and women. That too is an expense as it is lose of earnings.

So let’s say I decide to be a MAJOR fan and go to all the above (having not included the heats, semis, etc) and they are on different days for either the men’s event or the women’s event. In ticket prices only, I am looking at spending a total of around £500 per person. Travel, I could purchase a weekly ticket at around £50 (if prices will go up again next year). Food per day….let me just set aside of budget of £20 a day for at least 7 days (unless they allow people to pack their own which I dont see happening as a security measure, etc.). So that is a total of £140 of food only.

Adding it all up – £690…rounding it off to a cool £700 per person. If hubby decides I am not having all the olympic fun on my own and decides to tag along…..that is a cool £1,400 for 7 days worth of sports. And this for a few hours a day.

Now, if we want to feel the whole olympic vibe, as I don’t think we will be alive to see it again, and decide to go for the opening and closing ceremonies……that is another £80 (£20 each).

So, in total we are looking at spending £1,500 in 7days.

This is just merely me estimating how much it would cost so we can sit back and start budgeting and saving for the big event coming our way. A budget of busy parents trying to make ends meet and still have fun along the way.

Saving the money is easy. Its when a ‘rainy day’ comes along and you have to use the ‘olympic fund’…..what then?

Another thing, you are not guaranteed to get a ticket as it will all be allocated on a lottery based system, last I heard.

Will the olympics be like the Commonwealth Games in Delhi where there were empty seats in loads of events? Will fans from abroad be able to afford the games? By the time you consider visa fees, flights, accommodation and general up keep? London 2012 is already looking like a very expensive affair all round.

Leave a Reply

