Lesson #2: Giving Birth

Over the course of me blogging about being a mum, I will share my experiences as part of ‘my lessons learnt’ series.

When you get pregnant or become a mum/parent, you feel like you are the only one in the world who has just had a baby until the day you look for reassurance that you are doing the right thing. Be it advise from family, friends, the net, your health advisors…..you name it. That is when you realize that being a parent is NO JOKE! and you are not alone.

What is the one thing I learnt whilst giving birth to DS?

BE PREPARED FOR ANYTHING!

Having said that, nothing really prepares you for the hours ahead. Even the 40 weeks headstart (if you carry your baby full term).

My day started pretty much the same as any other day. Woke up at 7am (God only knew why) to go I dunno where…..oohhh, I know, my favourite spot on the sofa. Before I sat down, I usually made sure I had everything around me. Water, breakfast, laptop, footrest, mobile phone, camera and most importantly, the remote control.

On this day, I was unusually restless and couldn’t nap as I usually did. I made lunch and as soon as I finished, I felt the sudden urge to pee. This time it felt different and as I pushed myself off the sofa………it all came GUSHING OUT! Ohh shit….I have peed myself.

I quickly called hubby to come and confirm that it was pee and not my waters. Since I could be paranoid and get it all wrong. Well, let’s just say…..it wasn’t yellow and smelly……BABY WAS COMING! Time check: 3.15pm. I waited to see if I was having any contractions and they were there, but not as intense. So, I quickly showered (no way I was going to be checked into hospital stinking), packed the final bits and called for an ambulance.

I was checking into hospital at 6pm. After calling ahead as they tell you to, they still didn’t have beds by the time I got there. Anyway, baby and I were checked to make sure we were both fine and not in distress. Apparently, when your waters have gone, you and baby are more at risk of infection as there is nothing protecting the baby.

After the checks, we were told there were no beds yet, so I was told to wait in reception. Let me just say, those were the most uncomfortable seats ever. This was around 7pm when I was told to wait for a bed to become available. I finally got one at around 1am. That is NHS for you (vowing that if I have money, I am going private for my next one)! Boy was I glad to finally get some sleep before the hard work started. Once I was hooked up to the baby monitoring machine, I just slept as my contractions became less and less.

The following day (due date), I was still being monitored and nothing much was really happening. Its like DS decide it wasn’t time yet. So, the whole morning and afternoon hubby and I were in the admission suite. All I kept hearing (room had five beds separated with curtains) were other women being brought in and giving birth within hours. All this was happening in the same bed, that the ones left in the suite started requesting for that bed as it had some kind of ‘birthing effect’ on anyone who lied in it. Shortly after requesting to be transfered to said bed, a delivery suite became available and we were whisked there to prepare for the ‘final’ stages of getting DS OUT! At this point in time, I was being advised by the miwife that if nothing happens in a few hours, I will have to be induced. Something, I really wasn’t looking forward to as it can be a long drawn out process of forcing mother nature’s hand.

Anyhoo…….my contractions started, but I soon found out that I would be dilating every four hours through the night. As mentioned here, it became the longest night and morning of my life and I ended up needing pain relief that I didn’t want, but was vital for the comfort of me delivering my baby in one piece.

When baby was about to come out, his head was too far from the ‘exit’ and had to be helped along with forceps. I thank God for that epidural, otherwise, I dunno how I would have felt with metal ‘pliers’ being inserted inside of me. DS came and I was in tears. Nothing is the world compares with what I felt when he was finally here. If that is what unconditional love feels like, dish it up to me anytime….PLEASE. I digress!

Soon after baby was born, my body just shut down. It was like I was preparing to give birth (protecting baby), before my body deicided to act up in all sorts of manner. From high blood pressure, high fever, high heart rate, etc. I was feeling cold one minute, then sweating buckets the next. This went on for two days and was admitted in the HDU (High Dependancy Unit) to be monitored. I just couldn’t wait to get better and get out of there as I was getting tired of being pumped with antibiotics and water via drip.

Let’s just say, I packed for a day or two in hospital and I ended up staying for almost a week. Something I wasn’t even prepared for, but happened anyway. When the day came for me to leave hospital, I couldn’t wait to be back home.

We left home without a baby and came back with one. The best feeling ever.

So, what is the one thing you learnt during the birth of your child/children?

9 thoughts on “Lesson #2: Giving Birth”

  1. I would second the ‘Be prepared for anything’ completely! Also? Remember that the goal is a healthy child – not a superbly followed birth plan. Keep your eye on the prize, everything else is secondary!

  2. Eh! The one thing I have learnt from the birth of your child is I don’t have the heart for natural birth. Hats off to you!

  3. hmmm….no babies here…but seeing as just last week i was with my pal through the normal process…all i now know is do not go near the hospital till your waters break,..you shall be induced…and you shall know pain.not feel it.Know it! But end of the day,once you see the baby and its healthy and all…all is well 🙂

Leave a Reply

