The ‘C’ Word

Before you think I am going all gutter mode on you, I am talking about the….

‘CUT’

aka

CIRCUMCISION

To be honest, as a parent of a boy, this is one task I have been dreading. First and foremost, I had to argue my point across to hubby why DS should be ‘cut’ as a baby and not when he is older (as our culture dictates) and why I wanted it done.

This has been a debate from when DS was born, if not before. In the beginning, hubby was all for DS losing his foreskin, then as time went by he googled himself all the reasons why not to go ahead. Too be honest, I almost relented, but I wanted it done……ASAP!

I gave my experience with a dude who wasn’t circumcised from a woman’s point of view (it wasn’t pretty) to the hygienic reason, to the all so important cultural reason. The latter didn’t go down too well as if that was the case, why not wait until he is older to have it done. With that, I asked hubby if he remembered when he was circumcised and he basically shivered at the thought. More reason for DS to have his done now he is a baby. He won’t remember a thing.

Anyway, d-day came and no one ever tells you how difficult it is to hear your baby cry. More to do with the fact they are being held down as they are given an anesthetic to numb the area and during the actual procedure. Other than that, it is done in less than 10 minutes. DS didn’t sleep well that night, but Calpol was at hand to ease the pain. Now just waiting for DS to heal in about 3-10 days.

If you have a son/nephew/grandson and in this day and age want to take your little for circumcision, I would recommend watching a video of the procedure the day before. It’s not a pleasant thing to see, but it helps.

 

2 thoughts on “The ‘C’ Word”

Leave a Reply

